Hello! Welcome to my new blog. I’m going to be blogging about ‘all my things’ – knitting, painting, photography, caring, books, the occasional political rant! I’m a mum of 3 teenagers and my twin sons have severe learning disability and autism. My days are spent caring for them and finding ways to enjoy life with them and around them. 


This year I set myself an Instagram challenge of taking a photo a day. I feel quite pleased with myself for keeping this up at least half way through the year although it’s not really that difficult. I love taking photos and Instagram is the one social media platform that I consistently enjoy. 

Although I love taking photos, I’m not particularly ‘good’ at photography or interested in the technical side of it. I set myself this challenge to improve my photography a bit but mainly to help me with my art – finding inspiration, noticing shapes and colours etc and because I find it really helpful as a way of noticing the positive/happy/beautiful things in my life. Particularly when things get a bit shit, which they inevitably do when you are trying to care for people with challenging behaviours and find/fight for the services they need. 

Here’s some favourites from earlier in the year.


I’m going to do a weekly post of my photos for the rest of the year, but I’ll finish with this rather gloomy image I took of some pigeons that fly around in circles over my son’s school every day. Not the photo I would of liked to be taking on this auspicious day of light with it being the summer solstice and full moon but it has been grey here all day so I’m going with ‘what is’!

Leave a comment